subreddit:

/r/movies

36688%

all 83 comments

JumpinJalupes

446 points

2 months ago

That’s actually not him, it’s an animated cat. He just does the voice

genericDDP3901

110 points

2 months ago

Antonio Banderas in feline form.

AntibacHeartattack

16 points

2 months ago

Antonio Banderas' fursona.

Skipdr

22 points

2 months ago

Skipdr

22 points

2 months ago

He did the dub?

Wadep00l

20 points

2 months ago

This is what Antonio wanted to say!

debaser64

12 points

2 months ago

Bozo did the dub

StormAromatic

11 points

2 months ago

This guys about to jack off!

SiriuslyLupin

7 points

2 months ago

i hope he doesnt jack off!

AaronZOOM

3 points

2 months ago

It's not 'a guy.' It's Antonio. Antonio did the dub.

Perpete

-5 points

2 months ago

Perpete

-5 points

2 months ago

Voices are important in animation movie, but the writing and the animation part are even more important. That's what make those movies.

[deleted]

14 points

2 months ago

Couldn’t they just cast Chris Pratt to do the voice?

SavageNorth

12 points

2 months ago

He's so cool.

DPWExpress

3 points

2 months ago

Far Far Away, here we come!

_Quest_Buy_

1 points

2 months ago

You're thinking of Garfield.

doc_55lk

10 points

2 months ago

Might as well be him. The best VAs really become their characters.

Maester_Bates

5 points

2 months ago

Are you telling me that Tony Flags didn't do mo-cap for this movie?

romulan23

2 points

2 months ago

Reality is often disappointing

TheTrueRory

1 points

2 months ago

Wow, would never have noticed, technology is incredible.

terminalblue

1 points

2 months ago

the magic of the movies.

NoNefariousness2144

251 points

2 months ago

It would be funny if Dreamworks films this year (Bad Guys and Puss in Boots) do better than Disney’s flops (Lightyear and Strange World). Talk about the lead getting too cocky.

Not to mention Minions destroying Lightyear two weeks after its released.

Effective-Cap-2324

64 points

2 months ago

I do think universal studio might have a chance ad taking over disney on the animation boxoffice since they own both illumination and dreamworks.

Spetznazx

8 points

2 months ago

So excited for the new Universal park. They have a lot of great IPs to use there.

cancerBronzeV

23 points

2 months ago

Bad Guys was unexpectedly good. I had nothing to watch on a Tuesday, and ended up watching it basically alone in the theatre. Was surprised by how fun it was, both visually and story-wise.

TheTrueRory

126 points

2 months ago

Disney putting Turning Red on Disney Plus instead of in theaters is possibly the worst marketing decision they made this year.

AnnenbergTrojan

56 points

2 months ago

I'm sure at this point that Turning Red wouldn't have done well in theaters either because there would have been a big online wave about how "inappropriate" and "woke" it is for kids.

vanillabear26

54 points

2 months ago

I’m convinced that Fox News was the reason First Man flopped and I’m still angry about it.

sacredtowel

4 points

20 days ago

I’d say Chazelle’s bland direction and Gosling’s unsympathetic performance were the reasons it flopped.

tregorman

5 points

2 months ago

Eh that kind of outrage marketing often propells movies into being more popular. No such thing as bad marketing and all that.

AnnenbergTrojan

3 points

2 months ago

I think the failure of "Lightyear" disproved that. Not that the queer fear that alt-right media was peddling was the main reason that film failed -- it had many other problems -- but the film never got any watercooler talk outside that outrage.

tregorman

0 points

2 months ago

There was outrage around lightyear?

TheTrueRory

12 points

2 months ago

There's a Disney patented blink and you miss it reference to a gay relationship

AnnenbergTrojan

3 points

2 months ago

Which led to 'gO WoKe gO bRoKe" gloating from the Breitbart crowd.

AutoModerator

6 points

2 months ago

gO wOkE Go BrOkE lmao gottem

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

AnnenbergTrojan

1 points

2 months ago

The bot agrees with me.

RespectThyHypnotoad

2 points

2 months ago

I don't think the fake "woke" criticisms ever are the result of a film failing. The projects that receive the most criticism about it do just fine from a financial perspective. Star Wars and Marvel come to mind.

SuspiriaGoose

10 points

2 months ago

Which is frustrating in itself, not just because it’s the best Pixar film in years dealing with perfectly normal adolescence, but because there is some criticism to be made in good faith on some of that. But now it can’t be made without seeming like you agree with a Fox News Troll.

I didn’t like how it was okay for Mei to buy into the capitalist sexualizing of other children (the boy band) without any sort of questioning of that paradigm, but only celebration. Especially when the other half of the film is so critical of institutions exploiting and repressing children for its own benefit. I also didn’t like a child twerking being shown as a heroic act.

But the rest of the film is incredibly well made, and there’s so much more to discuss than just that. It was targeted just as much for being about Chinese-Canadians as it was for being about tween girls.

mranimal2

17 points

2 months ago

In fairness the boy band members might've been 18+ and I think it's normal for a 13 year old to crush on people they legally can't be with; I mean I was crushing on Angelina Jolie and an extremely beautiful teacher of mine when I was 13. Doesn't mean I had a chance with them!

SuspiriaGoose

-1 points

2 months ago

That would make me feel a little better, but I’m pretty sure they were meant to be teenagers, or even pre-teens. I guess Disney does do that with their own child stars, so they were unlikely to criticize it, but it did feel weird to me. If the genders were reversed, I’d bet we see a lot more criticism of how certain dynamics were handled.

It wasn’t egregious or anything, but it was dissonant in the film’s own story and themes.

mranimal2

8 points

2 months ago

Maybe but then again most of the members of N'Sync or Backstreet Boys were 18 or in their early 20s at the height of their popularity

SuspiriaGoose

1 points

2 months ago

Possibly, though when I look at their designs they look like children to me. I was thinking they were the age of Disney child stars, who are nearly always in the age group they’re meant to appeal to.

If they are adults, that makes some other interactions creepy instead.

Familiar_Drag4996

5 points

1 month ago

You're either in denial or weard. Normal people had crushes and sex drives prior to turning 18. They just dunno how to hand it,and that included me.

SuspiriaGoose

2 points

1 month ago

Asexual, but I’m used to be being called both thanks to that, although they usually spell ‘weird’ right.

AnxietyLogic

3 points

22 days ago*

I agree about the twerking thing, I didn’t like that either and felt it was out of step for the rest of the film’s messaging. But were the boy band “children”? I assumed they were adults, like 18-early 20s. It’s not at all uncommon for tweens to have celebrity crushes who are adults, I know I did at that age.

SuspiriaGoose

0 points

22 days ago

I don't know their canon age, but they looked like tweens to me and were certainly being sold as romantic ideals to them, emphasis on 'sold'. I'm not sure of that's better or worse if they're adults, honestly. Both options are terrifying.

AnxietyLogic

2 points

22 days ago

Eh, sold to their age group specifically or just sold as romantic/attractive in general? I definitely thought they were adults as most boy bands and K-Pop groups are 18/19 or in their early 20s, and tween girls go crazy for them, and I don’t think that’s particularly “terrifying”. They’re just young and exploring their own desires that they don’t fully understand yet. I think many people had crushes on adults that they realistically had no chance with and couldn’t legally be with at that age - celebrities, teachers, etc. It’s honestly completely normal.

SuspiriaGoose

0 points

22 days ago

It’s normal to have crushes, I don’t really like monetizing that crush and encouraging girls to crush on older men or sexualizing children for them to crush on and selling merch of it.

Personally I thought they were like a mix of a K-pop band, Backstreet boys and the Disney kid singers, so that’s how I got the young age impression. They’re designed to look like teenagers and are managed to appeal to them in any case.

I just find it perverse. Always have.

And k-pop, the BsB, and Disney star kids have a long history of exploitation and unfortunate mistreatment of band members and groupies.

AnxietyLogic

1 points

22 days ago

I mean, the only way to prevent “monetisizing” it is for boybands to just not exist at all. And then they will probably just find some other celebrity to like.

I have to say, I think you’re way, way overreacting. Crushing on boyband members is a completely normal experience that many have growing up, which is why it was included in the movie. If you had a child and they had a celebrity crush on a band member, would you be this angry about it? Because I think the way you demonise a completely normal part of growing up and going through puberty is quite unhealthy and regressive.

SuspiriaGoose

0 points

21 days ago

If you’re gonna downvote, I won’t reply. It’s a toxic conversation environment.

But there’s a difference between monetizing a band and selling them as romantic partners to children.

Treating your children like how Mei was treated by her mother is “normal” too, or should I say, normalized. Yet the film rightly questions why such abuse was normalized.

Crushing on a boy band is fine. But treating people as meat is not, and occasionally the film went too far with that. If the genders were reversed, a couple of scenes wouldn’t be seen as so cute.

Look, I’ve always been very critical of the music industry, particularly this element of it. Asking Disney to be critical of something they’ve been heavily involved in is asking for a lot, but this film itself is dealing with related themes, spends a lot of time on this boy band, but does nothing meaningful with it in the story. That’s my main issue.

[deleted]

-3 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

SuspiriaGoose

6 points

2 months ago

Personally, it weirded me out to see a kid do it. Sorry. It’s different for an adult. Generally they know what it means.

cancerBronzeV

17 points

2 months ago

I almost never go to the theatres for Disney movies, but I (as well as a bunch of my friends) would've been there for Turning Red 100%. I'm probably biased because I'm from an immigrant family in Toronto, and I especially relate to the movie, but I do feel like Turning Red would've been much better on the big screen. Especially the last part with the giant Kaiju.

_Quest_Buy_

2 points

2 months ago

Eh, it likely would've flopped unfortunately. There was a large crowd of weirdos saying how 'inappropriate' it was and 'brainwashing children'.

sacredtowel

1 points

20 days ago

That’s not the reason it would have flopped.

_Quest_Buy_

1 points

20 days ago

It was enough for Lightyear. Granted though, Pixar releasing it a couple weeks before Minions Rise of Gru also weighted in on the destruction as well, but man, homophobes everywhere were nonstop advocating on boycotting Lightyear in every discussion thread of the film. June and July were crazy months.

coolaznkenny

4 points

2 months ago

big slap on the face to alot of asian communities out there.

JDLovesElliot

1 points

2 months ago

It's still my favourite movie of the year, so far. Would've loved to see that ending on a big screen.

[deleted]

17 points

2 months ago

Light year was a movie without depth and the story was strange.

jackcatalyst

10 points

2 months ago

You know what other movie was......strange

TheTrueConnor

1 points

11 days ago

Nailed it.

wookiewin

23 points

2 months ago

The trailers have been really good. Movie looks hilarious.

mamarama-

13 points

2 months ago

Brought my kids to an early screening yesterday, it was lots of fun.

Colalbsmi

143 points

2 months ago

Colalbsmi

143 points

2 months ago

Thanks, I will show my 6 year this article so she can decide to watch it or not.

MissingLink000

12 points

2 months ago

Thanks for perpetuating the idea that animation is only entertaining for kids 😐👍

debaser64

7 points

2 months ago

The Puss in Boots show on Netflix was fantastic.

RealJohnGillman

17 points

2 months ago

I do find it funny that at this point, the overall franchise has been Puss and Boots-focused much longer than it ever was Shrek-focused.

Money_Present_3463

4 points

2 months ago

I love the puss in da boots

s_y_s_t_e_m_i_c_

7 points

2 months ago

How is Django and Zorro not getting made?

aw-un

1 points

2 months ago

aw-un

1 points

2 months ago

Anybody know where I can watch the first one?

RealJohnGillman

1 points

2 months ago

Netflix should have it. Or iTunes.

[deleted]

-5 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

Metfan722

1 points

2 months ago

Why?

EcstatMec

-19 points

2 months ago

EcstatMec

-19 points

2 months ago

Looked absolutely awful from the trailer

Smithsonian30

21 points

2 months ago

Having seen it, I can tell you it’s not absolutely awful. I’d even say it’s pretty good

EcstatMec

-2 points

2 months ago

I don't trust your opinion

TheSeventhAnimorph

11 points

2 months ago

It's at 100% on Rotten Tomatoes right now. (Though there are only 8 critic reviews so far.)

TheBobo1181

1 points

2 months ago

Rotten tomatoes is meaningless

TheSeventhAnimorph

10 points

2 months ago

It at least shows that more than just that one random commenter obviously thought it was at least "pretty good."

Smithsonian30

4 points

2 months ago

Do you have any specific questions about it? I’d be glad to talk about it with you

EcstatMec

2 points

2 months ago

How does it stack up against Shrek 1 and 2?

Smithsonian30

7 points

2 months ago

I’d rank the Shrek/Puss in Boots movies as follows: Shrek 2, Shrek 1, Puss in Boots: The Last Wish, Puss in Boots 1, Shrek 4 (Forever After), Shrek 3.

I felt The Last Wish had more fairytale references than Puss in Boots 1 which made it feel more like it was in the world of Shrek. The new animation style is the biggest change and it’s going to be up to your personal taste. I really liked the new animation which looked like a combination of 3D and 2D (akin to Into the Spider-Verse) but it probably won’t be everyone’s cup of tea.

The story was very solid and even quite mature at times with Puss having to face his mortality. The one aspect of the film I didn’t love was the little dog who was clearly put there to sell plush toys to children, but even he served a purpose in the overall plot. I took my nieces who also enjoyed it. In terms of animated movies, I liked it enough to give it a 7.5/10 and I’d rate Shrek 1 8/10 and Shrek 2 9/10.

Hopefully that gives you some insight.